Warning: Declaration of GFCategoryWalker::start_el(&$output, $term, $depth) should be compatible with Walker::start_el(&$output, $object, $depth = 0, $args = Array, $current_object_id = 0) in /nfs/c07/h04/mnt/178581/domains/electricmohawk.com/html/wp-content/plugins/gravityforms/common.php on line 5238
The Dangerous Summer - "War Paint"

The Dangerous Summer – “War Paint”

The Dangerous Summer - War Paint

Back in 2009, The Dangerous Summer released “Reach For The Sun”, widely regarded as one of the best albums of the past few years. It had been a long time since a young band came around that was so honest, heartfelt, and passionate in their music and lyrics. It was some of the most “real” and relatable music I’ve heard in a long, long time. Everyone knew that it would be a challenge to follow up such a strong debut, but they did, and did so with flying colors.

Simply put, the band has progressed to new heights. To the point where they might be the best band going in music right now. They kept the same “Dangerous Summer” sound, but definitely matured as songwriters. The biggest difference I noticed right off the bat with the title track “War Paint” was the bands more upbeat tempo. “Reach For The Sun” had it’s fair share of jams on it, but this album lets you know right off the bat that it’s going to be more of a rocker.

“Work In Progress” was released a few weeks before the album dropped and it just might end up being one of my favorite songs of the year. The buildup to the song’s chorus can only be described as epic, a word I usually never like to use. The way the verses branch into the pre-choruses, and then finally into the chorus where singer AJ Perdomo yells “Save – me a place inside the quiet!…” is just a thing of beauty. I don’t remember anything this memorable on their first album. “Good Things” is another standout (which was actually released back in the summer of 2010) on the first half of the disc. Easily could have fit on “Reach For The Sun”.

However, the middle of the album has a few songs I’m not too keen on. “Siren” and “Everyone Left”, while both good songs by any standard, don’t stack up as well to the majority of the rest of the album. Both very basic in structure and offer nothing new.

The lead guitar definitely takes over on this album. Usually nothing spectacular, but it does more than enough to carry the song’s melodies, something that wasn’t nearly as prominent on their previous releases. It’s very noticeable on every song. The intro riff to “Miscommunication” is definitely something new for The Dangerous Summer… and once the harmonizing guitar comes in, it becomes something totally unexpected. “We fall to miscommunication. And in that moment I might die, I’ll let you go…” leads us into the most crowd-bouncing chorus the band has ever written.

“Parachute” is another absolute jam on this record. This is one of those songs that upon hearing it for the first time, I just wanted to listen to it over and over again. Such a sing-along.

Overall, this will go down as another classic by this band. It’s shocking to think that a group of 4 guys basically my age are writing music like THIS. Go and do yourself a favor and get into this band, you will not regret it.

Track Listing:

  1. War Paint
  2. Work In Progress
  3. No One’s Gonna Need You More
  4. Good Things
  5. Siren
  6. Everyone Left
  7. Miscommunication
  8. I Should Leave Right Now
  9. Parachute
  10. In My Room
  11. Waves

Check out their music video for “War Paint”:

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply