Warning: Declaration of GFCategoryWalker::start_el(&$output, $term, $depth) should be compatible with Walker::start_el(&$output, $object, $depth = 0, $args = Array, $current_object_id = 0) in /nfs/c07/h04/mnt/178581/domains/electricmohawk.com/html/wp-content/plugins/gravityforms/common.php on line 5238
Sublime with Rome - "Yours Truly"

Sublime with Rome – “Yours Truly”

Sublime With Rome - "Yours Truly"

Sublime With Rome - "Yours Truly" Released: July12, 2011 Label: Fueled By Ramen

When I say I’m a Sublime fan, I’m not just saying one or two songs. I’m talking about getting in to arguments at bars over which was the better record “40oz To Freedom” or “Sublime”. For the record I think “Sublime” is, but that is another article. Last year, I heard Sublime was getting back into the studio with Rome Rodriguez. You may have heard Rome’s collaborations with The Dirty Heads on “Any Port In The Storm”. I was pretty pumped. I downloaded “Yours Truly” from Amazon and threw it in my queue right after “Sublime” while at work. I didn’t realize “Sublime” had ended until about 30 seconds into the first track “Panic” .

That, unfortunately, was about the extent of the similarities.  “Murdera” and “Paper Cuts” have potential instrumentally, but the vocals lack the grit and defiance Bradley Nowell brought to the group. In stark contrast, “PCH”,  “Take It Or Leave It”, and “Spun” seem to come out of left field. They seem more fitting on a pop record than a Sublime record. This offering seems like it is lost on Pacific Coast Highway. It may be time to pull into the next gas station and ask for directions.

This record has some potential, but I think Sublime With Rome needs a bit more time to find it’s sound and identity. If they decide to go the way of “Panic” and “Paper Cuts”, I’m very excited for their next release. If they decide to go the way of “PCH” and “Spun”, I can’t say I’d agree with them keeping Sublime in the name. If  you’re looking for background noise at work, you may want to check out the whole album. My suggestion: download “Panic”, “Murdera” and “Paper Cuts”. Don’t bother with the rest of it.

Track List:

1. Panic
2. Only
3. Lovers Rock
4. Murdera
5. My World
6. Paper Cuts
7. PCH
8. Same Old Situation
9. Take It Or Leave It
10. You Better Listen
11. Spun
12. Can You Feel It

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply